Pence refuses to behave, so Pelosi appoints Trump Impeachment Trial Supervisor

Spokesman Pelosi has named the list of process managers who will bring the case and oversee the second trial against Trump after Mike Pence refused to invoke the 25th amendment.

In a statement to PoliticusUSA, spokesman Pelosi said: Tonight I have the solemn privilege to appoint the managers of the impeachment proceedings against Donald Trump, "said spokeswoman Nancy Pelosi. "It is your constitutional and patriotic duty to present the impeachment and recall of the President. You will do so, guided by your great love for the country, your determination to protect our democracy and your loyalty to our constitutional oath. Our managers will carry out their duty to defend democracy for the people with great solemnity, prayer and urgency. "

The impeachment managers are:

Congressman Jamie Raskin, lead manager
Congressman Diana DeGette
Congressman David Cicilline
Congressman Joaquin Castro
Congressman Eric Swalwell
Congressman Ted Lieu
Congressman Stacey Plaskett
Congressman Joe Neguse
Congressman Madeleine Dean

The Democratic impeachment managers are seasoned attorneys, prosecutors, and constitutional law experts, and the defense team will consist of Alan Dershowitz, Rudy Giuliani, and all of the other Trump officials.

Mitch McConnell, soon to be chairman of the Senate minority, wants Trump to be expelled from the Republican Party. If that trial takes place after Trump is no longer in office, it wouldn't be surprising if more Republicans than Mitt Romney voted for a condemnation.

Donald Trump's second impeachment just got real, and no matter when the trial takes place, Trump will be the only president in US history to face two charges.

For more discussions on this story, join our Rachel Maddow and MSNBC groups.

Follow and like PoliticusUSA on Facebook

Mr. Easley is the Founder / Senior Editor, White House Press Pool, and a Congressional Correspondent for PoliticusUSA. Jason has a bachelor's degree in political science. His thesis focused on public order with a specialization in social reform movements.

Awards and professional memberships

Member of the Society of Professional Journalists and the American Political Science Association

Related Articles