Shipping News and Reviews

Texas Democrats are stepping off the home ground and blocking election rigging invoice from passing

Just before midnight at the end of the legislature, the Texas Democrats left home to withhold a quorum and blocked the passage of an election fraud bill.

The Texas Tribune reported:

But on Sunday evening, when lawmakers had an hour to finally approve the bill, Democrats held a strike to prevent a vote on the legislation before a deadly deadline.

“Leave the chamber discreetly. Don't go to the gallery. Exit the building, ”Grand Prairie State Rep. Chris Turner, chairman of the House Democratic Caucus, said in a text message to fellow Democrats received from The Texas Tribune.

The Texas bill puts new restrictions on mail-in voting, capping early voting hours, and ending local options like drive-thru voting.

In other words, it's a bill that targets everything Democrats are really good at to get their voters to vote.

If people vote in large numbers, Republicans lose. The GOP has launched a national campaign to prevent people from voting.

The process on the bill will start over in the special legislature, but Republicans failed to get the bill through in the middle of the night and that is a huge victory because more time and public attention will only lead to backlash and public outrage will grow.

The State Democrats are doing everything they can to protect the right to vote, but they need the help of the Democrats in Congress and the Biden administration as soon as possible.

Photo: Alexa Ura of the Texas Tribune via Twitter

For more discussions on this story, join our Rachel Maddow and MSNBC groups.

Follow and like PoliticusUSA on Facebook

Mr. Easley is the Founder / Senior Editor, White House Press Pool, and a Congressional Correspondent for PoliticusUSA. Jason has a bachelor's degree in political science. His thesis focused on public order with a specialization in social reform movements.

Awards and professional memberships

Member of the Society of Professional Journalists and the American Political Science Association

Comments are closed.